News Archive

News Archive

BM 02: Naoko Takahashi won again

Olympic champion Naoko Takahashi of Japan won the Berlin Marathon again this

morning, in an unofficial 2hr 21min 48sec. She was two minutes and two seconds

outside the world record she set in Berlin last year, but nevertheless ran the

13th fastest time in history, and her own third best, just one second behind

her Asian Games winning time of 1998 in Bangkok.

Adriana Fernandez of Mexico, who led Takahashi until the 25th kilometre

finished second in 2.24.09, three seconds outside her own best, set in London

three years ago. Helen Kimutai of Kenya was third in 2.26.09.