News Archive

News Archive

Copenhagen Marathon

In bright sunshine and 20 degrees. It was a grand experience for both

spectators and participants. Here, elite runners and those running a marathon

for the first time, where represented. Many raised their arms in pride and

relief as they passed the finish line.

The warm temperatures caused the participants to quickly need the fluids and

wet sponges available along ther route. While the spectators could lean back

and enjoy the impressive sight of joyfull and enthusiastic runners moving

through the streets of Copenhagen like a huge organic snake.

The participation was the highest in three years, and the number of women

participants rise steadily each year. 710 women completed the distance of

42,195 km this year.

“We are very satisfied with the Marathon” says Niels

Jørgen Holt, Chairman of Sparta. “It is the best Marathon in many

years, counting the number of participants, the weather and the coordination of

the event. We can’t complain about anything, only, we hope that we will

see even more women running in the future, as in America where almost half the

runners are women”.

This year’s winner of Copenhagen Marathon was the Polish runner Janusz

Sarnicki in a time of 2:23:55. Best female was the Sparta’s own runner

Anne-Mette Aagaard in 2:49:34


1. Anne-Mette Aagaard, 2:49:34; 2. Anna Marie Simonsen, 2:57:29; 3. Maria

Poala Colzi, (ITA), 2:57:59; 4. Karina Berner-Magnusson, 2:59:01; 5. Vibeke

Hansen, 3:00:24; 6. Kirsten Søborg, 3:03:07


1. Janusz Sarnicki, Polen, 2:23:55; 2. Hans Mygind, 2:27: 09; 3. Peder

Troldborg, 2:29:22; 4. Meschek Kosgei, 2:30:09; 5. Kjeld Dissing, 2:31:54; 6.

Steen Michael Petersen, 2:34:04